Quick gluten free meals

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Quick gluten free meals

This is a little bit of an obscure topic for our tiny forum. I'm posting some ideas because I've had several years of experience cooking for a person who can't have wheat. I remember how daunting the idea was when we found out what we were facing with our son. I don't like to cook, but I do get into a mood and create some crazy things for a few months. If I didn't have kids to feed, I would rather just eat out of a peanut butter jar than cook.

For an easy meal, cook meat such as a whole chicken, pork or beef roast. You can use the drippings to make gravy with corn starch. Bake the large yellow potatoes for your mashed potatoes. Using milk, real butter, salt, and a little cream cheese. Using real, full fat ingredients makes up for the lack of wheat.

There is a withdrawal period that everyone who goes without wheat experiences. You feel empty. Find a good flour like Namaste or Krusteaz. Get a waffle iron. I'll find my recipe for really yummy GF waffles, I have to work in a moment so I can't post it right now. You can make a quick sandwich for kids with pb and j and a warm waffle.

I will post more tips later. If you are newly GF and have questions I would be happy to help. My mother struggled with stomach issues. Her only full sister and my cousins went wheat free the same month my son did and we weren't even discussing it when it happened. All of them tested negative for Celiac and wheat allergy but they are all completely healthy now unless they ingest wheat.
    No problem can be solved from the same level of consciousness that created it. -Einstein

Thank you!!!!

I cannot eat wheat anymore and it's a pain in the ass to make something quick -- like a sandwich. I never thought of a waffle. I have a bag of Namaste flour but haven't used it. Any tips on it would really help.